List Of Players To Score A Hat Trick In The FIFA World Cup Final

Kylian Mbappe, a forward for France, became the second player to score a World Cup Hat Trick in the final when he brought his team back from the brink of defeat against Argentina in extra time on Sunday, know the list of the players to do this

Both teams were tied at 3-3 before going to penalties. When a player scores three or more goals in one game, it’s called a “hat-trick,” and it’s a big deal, especially if it happens at the biggest international football tournament in the world.

England beat West Germany 4–2 after extra time in 1966, and Geoff Hurst was the first player to score three goals in a final.

Full List Of Players To Score A Hat Trick In The FIFA World Cup Final

Before 2022, England fans knew the answer to the famous trivia question, “Who is the only player to score a hat trick in a World Cup final?”  But now Kylian Mbappe is also on this list.

Geoff Hurst scored three goals as Sir Alf Ramsey’s team beat West Germany 4-2 in the 1966 final at Wembley Stadium. This is the most famous result in the history of English football.

Helmut Haller scored the first goal in London, but Hurst quickly answered with a header. However, it was his famous brace in extra time that sealed the win and made Kenneth Wolstenholme say, “They think it’s all over.”

Players To Score Two Goals In A World Cup Final

Player Year Country Opponent Final Score Time of Goals
Lionel Messi 2022 Argentina France Argentina 3-3 France* 23′, 108′
Ronaldo 2002 Brazil Germany Brazil 2-0 Germany 67′, 79′
Zinedine Zidane 1998 France Brazil France 3-0 Brazil 27, 45+1′
Mario Kempes 1978 Argentina Netherlands Argentina 3-1 Netherlands 38, 105
Pele 1958 Brazil Sweden Brazil 5-2 Sweden 55′, 90′
Vava 1958 Brazil Sweden Brazil 5-2 Sweden 9′, 32′
Helmut Rahn 1954 West Germany Hungary West Germany 3 Hungary 2 18′, 84
Gino Colaussi 1938 Italy Hungary Italy 4 Hungary 2 6′, 35′
Silvio Piola 1938 Italy Hungary Italy 4 Hungary 2 16, 82′

All The World Cup Hat Tricks In Football History

In the history of the World Cup, 52 hat tricks have been scored by 49 different people. Fontaine did it in 1958, Gerd Muller in 1970, and Gabriel Batistuta twice, in 1994 and 1998. The World Cup in Switzerland in 1954 had the most hat tricks of any tournament up to that point, with eight.

Two of them came from Theodor Wagner and Josef Hugi, who were playing against each other in the same game, Austria 7–5 Switzerland. Only the 2006 World Cup in Germany did not have a hat trick. Bert Patenaude, an American, scored the first hat trick at a World Cup game in Uruguay in 1930.

World Cup Hat Tricks List

Year Player Team Opponent Stage Final Result
2022 Goncalo Ramos Portugal Switzerland Round of 16 W 6-1
2018 Harry Kane England Panama Group W 6-1
2018 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Spain Group D 3-3
2014 Xherdan Shaqiri Switzerland Honduras Group W 3-0
2014 Thomas Muller Germany Portugal Group W 4-0
2010 Gonzalo Higuain Argentina South Korea Group W 4-1
2002 Pauleta Portugal Poland Group W 4-0
2002 Miroslav Klose Germany Saudi Arabia Group W 8-0
1998 Gabriel Batistuta Argentina Jamaica Group W 5-0
1994 Oleg Salenko Russia Cameroon Group W 6-1
1994 Gabriel Batistuta Argentina Greece Group W 4-0
1990 Tomas Skuhravy Czechoslovakia Costa Rica Round of 16 W 4-1
1990 Michel Spain South Korea Group W 3-1
1986 Emiliano Butrageuno Spain Denmark Round of 16 W 5-1
1986 Igor Belanov Soviet Union Belgium Round of 16 L 3-4 (aet)
1986 Gary Lineker England Poland Group W 3-0
1986 Preben Elkjaer Denmark Uruguay Group W 6-1
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy Brazil Second Group W 3-2
1982 Zbigniew Boniek Poland Belgium Second Group W 3-0
1982 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Chile Group W 4-1
1982 Laszlo Kiss Hungary El Salvador Group W 10-1
1978 Teofilo Cubillas Peru Iran Group W 4-1
1978 Rob Rensenbrink Netherlands Iran Group W 3-0
1974 Andrzej Szarmach Poland Haiti Group W 7-0
1974 Dusan Bajevic Yugoslavia Zaire Group W 9-0
1970 Gerd Muller West Germany Peru Group W 3-1
1970 Gerd Muller West Germany Bulgaria Group W 5-2
1966 Geoff Hurst England West Germany Final W 4-2 (aet)
1966 Eusebio Portugal North Korea Quarterfinals W 5-3
1962 Florian Albert Hungary Bulgaria Group W 6-1
1958 Just Fontaine France West Germany Third place match W 6-3
1958 Pele Brazil France Semifinals W 5-2
1958 Just Fontaine France Paraguay Group W 7-3
1954 Josef Hugi Switzerland Austria Quarterfinals L 5-7
1954 Theodor Wagner Austria Switzerland Quarterfinals W 7-5
1954 Max Morlock West Germany Turkey Group W 7-2
1954 Burhan Sargin Turkey South Korea Group W 7-0
1954 Sandor Kocsis Hungary West Germany Group W 8-3
1954 Carlos Borges Uruguay Scotland Group W 7-0
1954 Erich Probst Austria Czechoslovakia Group W 5-0
1954 Sandor Kocsis Hungary South Korea Group W 9-0
1950 Ademir Brazil Sweden Final group stage W 7-1
1950 Oscar Miguez Uruguay Bolivia First group stage W 8-0
1938 Harry Anderson Sweden Cuba Quarterfinals W 8-0
1938 Gustav Wetterstrom Sweden Cuba Quarterfinals W 8-0
1938 Leonidas Brazil Poland Round of 16 W 6-5 (aet)
1938 Ernst Wilimowski Poland Brazil Round of 16 L 6-5 (aet)
1934 Oldrich Nejedly Czechoslovakia Germany Semifinals W 3-1
1934 Edmund Conen Germany Belgium Round of 16 W 5-2
1934 Angelo Schiavio Italy USA Round of 16 W 7-1
1930 Pedro Cea Uruguay Yugoslavia Semifinals W 6-1
1930 Guillermo Stabile Argentina Mexico Group W 6-3
1930 Bert Patenaude USA Paraguay Group W 3-0

To know more about World Cup Hat Tricks, do follow The SportsGrail on a regular and frequent basis.

ALSO READ: Black Clover Sword Of The Wizard King Movie Release Date, Plot Story, Cast, Trailer